Friday, May 25, 2007

Mighty Diamonds For A Friday

The Jamaican vocal group comprising Donald "Tabby" Shaw, Fitzroy "Bunny" Simpson and Lloyd "Judge" Ferguson, better known to the world as the Mighty Diamonds, broke through in 1975 at Channel One studio with the song "Right Time." Now I'm going to quote directly from the book called "The Guinness Who's Who Of Reggae Music" to avoid having to spend three hour trying to paraphrase what explains a lot... and I quote...

"The Diamonds initial success was due to a number of reasons: the influence of Burning Spears' championing of Jamaican national hero, Marcus Garvey; the definitive three-part rocksteady harmonies of the Heptones, together with Sly Dunbar's militant rockers style of drumming on "do-overs" of timeless Studio One rhythms; and, of course, their own superb songwriting, vocal abilities and the odd knack of somehow managing to sound urgent and relaxed at the same time."

end quote. Enough said.

Here for your listening pleasure is a 15 song mix of some of the Diamonds hits mixed in with a bunch of other great tracks that may not have been real classifiable hits but great nonetheless. I love these guys and the music they made during what many consider the "golden age" of reggae really stands the test of time amongst all genres of music!

Track Listing
1. "Jah Will Work It Out" from the 1981 album Indestructible released on the Alligator label
2. "Gates Of Zion" from the 1980 Greensleeves 12"
3. "Why Me Black Brother Why" from their debut album from 1976 Right Time released on the Virgin label
4. "Be Aware" from their 1979 album Deeper Roots also on the Virgin label
5. "Pass The Kouchie" from a 1990's era greatest hits CD called simply Mighty Diamonds which I can't seem to find the case for so I can't tell which label released it
6. "Hunting Ground" from the 1981 Shanachie CD called Reggae Street
7. "I Need A Roof" from a Channel One 7" from 1976
8. "Bad Boy" from the 1983 album called Leader Of Black Country on the Mobiliser Music label
9. "Jah Jah Bless The Dread" from the multi CD various artist set The Bunny 'Striker' Lee Story
10. "Wise Son" from a 12" single on the King Culture label
11. "Talk About It" from the 2002 CD set called Lee "Scratch" Perry & Friends - The Singles Collection: Anthology 1968-1979 on the Sanctuary label
12. "Stoned Out Of My Mind" from the various artists CD called Channel One - Hit Bound: The Revolutionary Sound from Heartbeat
13. "Ghetto Living" from the 1993 CD boxset The Story Of Jamaican Music
14. "Forbidden Fruit" again from 1981's Reggae Street
15. "Have Mercy" again from 1976's Right Time



Reggaexx said...

Glad this one was so well received

Cloverdale Dave said...

Wow- 1100 folks viewed it and no one said thanks? Thanks- great mix

Anonymous said...

Thank you.